Nobel Symposium

Free and open to the public, the annual Nobel Symposium event will highlight this year's Nobel Prize topics presented by UD speakers. Prize topics and presenters include:


Peace Prize for 2018 to Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad for their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict. Both laureates have made a crucial contribution to focusing attention on, and combating, such war crimes. Denis Mukwege is the helper who has devoted his life to defending these victims. Nadia Murad is the witness who tells of the abuses perpetrated against herself and others. Each of them in their own way has helped to give greater visibility to war-time sexual violence, so that the perpetrators can be held accountable for their actions. Presented by Georgina Ramsay, Assistant Professor of Anthropology


The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2018 was divided, one-half awarded to Frances H. Arnold "for the directed evolution of enzymes", the other half jointly to George P. Smith and Sir Gregory P. Winter "for the phage display of peptides and antibodies." Presented by Sharon Rozovsky, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry


The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2018 was divided equally between William D. Nordhaus "for integrating climate change into long-run macroeconomic analysis" and Paul M. Romer "for integrating technological innovations into long-run macroeconomic analysis." Presented by Laurence Seidman, Chaplin Tyler Professor of Economics


The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2018 was awarded jointly to James P. Allison and Tasuku Honjo "for their discovery of cancer therapy by inhibition of negative immune regulation." Presented by Salil A. Lachke, Associate Professor and Associate Chair, Gerard J. Mangone Scholar, Department of Biological Sciences


The Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 was awarded "for groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics" with one half to Arthur Ashkin "for the optical tweezers and their application to biological systems", the other half jointly to Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland "for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses." Presented by Barry C. Walker, Professor of Physics


For questions please call (302) 831-2793

Tuesday, November 13, 2018 at 7:00pm to 9:00pm

Patrick T. Harker Interdisciplinary Science and Engineering Laboratory, First Floor Commons
221 Academy Street, Newark, DE 19716

Event Type

Alumni, Community, Academics, College of Arts and Sciences


Contact Phone



Recent Activity